Following the deadline for submissions, a long list is selected by the festival director and assistant. The AAYFF selection committee then undertakes an intensive process of shortlisting. The resulting official selection is then sent for prescreening by our jury and their teams before the Gala Screening event at Tanglin Trust School on May 4th. The AAYFF selection committee is derived from a complement of film educators, media professionals as well as members not directly involved in film.

  • Artistic Merit (story, creativity, entertainment) - 60%

  • Technical Merit - 40%

Download the judging rubric here.

Our panel of judges from Disney, HBO and Mediacorp which will be announced in the coming weeks will present the age group, category, technical prizes and the Best AAYFF Film of 2018 from among the Official Selection on the evening of the Gala Screening event. 


All shortlisted filmmakers will receive an exclusive invitation to attend the AAYFF Industry Experience Day hosted by our partners Disney, HBO and Mediacorp in Singapore, as well as an Official Selection certificate. Prize winners will be presented with a certificate, trophy and the following cash prize:

Best AAYFF Film 2018: S$1000 & Trophy

Best Film (10-12 age group): S$250 & Trophy
Best Film (13-15 age group): S$250 & Trophy
Best Film (16-18 age group): S$250 & Trophy

Best Documentary: S$150 & Trophy
Best Animation: S$150 & Trophy
Best Horror: S$150 & Trophy
Best Experimental: S$150 & Trophy
Best Drama: S$150 & Trophy
Best Music Video: S$150 & Trophy
Best Short Short: $150 & Trophy

Best Director: S$150 & Trophy  
Best Editing: S$150 &  Trophy
Best Cinematography:  S$150 & Trophy
Best Sound:  S$150 & Trophy
Best Special Effects:  S$150 & Trophy

Audience Award: S$250 & Trophy 

The Audience Award is voted for by the viewing public over a period of a week following the screening event. All amounts listed are In Singapore Dollars