Welcome to the AAYFF

The Across Asia Youth Film Festival AAYFF is celebration of creativity and risk taking through independent filmmaking. Now in it's second year, the AAYFF was established to help emerging filmmakers from schools and institutions across Asia to reach the broadest possible audience and to generate international dialogue through their films. The AAYFF is the only film festival in Asia that celebrates filmmaking from the grassroots; from students in elementary school through middle school  to IB/A level and then beyond into tertiary education. 

Adjudicated by media industry professionals, shortlisted films in each category will be showcased to the public and judges to view and vote for at the Gala Screening evening on May 4th 2018. Awards will be presented to the winners on the evening for each category and will recognise winners in each age group as well as each film category.

Seminars and workshops will be held for filmmakers who are interested in the film industry and want to expand their knowledge about filmmaking. The AAYFF has incredible support from Tanglin Trust School where the festival was conceived and founded and members of Singapore’s media industry including Disney, HBO Asia and Mediacorp.

HBO covered the 2nd annual Across Asia Youth Film Festival from Tanglin Trust School in Singapore

AAYFF 2018 Dates & Deadlines:

January 1st 2018:


Open for Submissions

March 23rd 2018:


Submission Deadline

May 3rd 2018:


Industry Experience Day

May 4th 2018:


Gala Screening

Click HERE to subscribe to the Across Asia Youth Film Festival mailing list

 AAYFF 2017  Jury:  MediaCorp – CheeK, HBO – Steve Burton, Disney – Tom Batchelor

AAYFF 2017  Jury:  MediaCorp – CheeK, HBO – Steve Burton, Disney – Tom Batchelor

HBO Asia were delighted to be involved in the first AAYFF and the quality of the entries was truly amazing. With the enthusiasm and professionalism of these young film makers, the future of Asian film looks very bright. We are already looking forward to next year’s event
— Steve Burton, Executive Vice President, HBO Asia