AAYFF 2017 Gala Screening

The AAYFF Gala Screening Event 2017

aayff banner.jpg

Many thanks to all of you who helped share word of the festival with your students and help make this event happen. Tomorrow at Tanglin Trust School, thirty two films shortlisted from 274 will be screened before an audience of 500 and an industry jury. Many of the young Singapore based filmmakers will get to meet those travelling in from the Philippines, Vietnam, Malaysia and China. We will have in excess of 100 student filmmakers who submitted films in attendance!

Shortlisted young filmmakers from 17 schools across Asia. 

Shortlisted young filmmakers from 17 schools across Asia. 

Shortlisted young filmmakers from 17 schools across Asia. 

From 6pm the shortlisted films will be made made public via our Facebook page and here on the site. The programme will consist of 32 films by students from 17 schools being screened and then the awards ceremony.

✦ International School of Ho Chi Minh City ✦ Tanglin Trust School ✦  International School of Beijing ✦ UWCSEA, Singapore, ✦ IGB International School Malaysia ✦ International School of Dongguan ✦ QSI Shenzhen, China ✦ Shrewsbury International School Bangkok ✦ International School Manila ✦ Singapore American School ✦ The International School Of Macao ✦ SMK (LKTP) Maokil, Labis Johor, Malaysia ✦ The British International School Shanghai ✦ Lasalle College of the Arts, Singapore ✦ Canadian International School ✦ Vientiane International School, Laos ✦ International Bilingual School at Hsinchu-Science-Park ✦

We will also be featuring films during the interval on the live stream which didn't quite make the shortlist, so be sure to share with your students.

✦ Green School, Bali ✦ King George V School, Hong Kong ✦ Dulwich College, Shanghai ✦ Tanglin Trust School ✦ Kellett School, Hong Kong ✦ Yew Chung International School Shanghai ✦

There will be an Audience Award which will be decided by the public voting over a period of a week following the screening. This year's winner will win S$250 kindly donated by the Tanglin Trust School PTA and one of our AAYFF trophies. Voting will open tomorrow at 6pm via our Facebook page and here on the site.

I'm already looking forward to the impact this event will have on youth filmmaking in the region, so when we return with the second edition we can look forward to even more students getting involved and sharing their stories through film.

Kind regards,


David Anthony Procter
AAYFF Director